The Primate Research Group (PRG) is mostly intersted in questions of eco-ethology of primates in natural environments.

Initially principally focussed on mechanisms of exploitation of habitats (feeding ecology and evolution of home ranges), the researches of the PRG are now dedicating a growing importance to the study of primate populations’ behavior in disturbed habitats.

Habiats modifications, often more or less directly related to anthropic pressure, are most often threatening the survival of animal and vegetal species, and notably non-human primate species. Of some species demonstrate a certain flexibility, others are les adaptable and therefore more fragile. The systematic evaluation of species adaptability and/or fragility when confronted to modifications of their environments is crucial for designing efficient measures of protection and conservation.

Through the study of primates behavior, the PRG is therefore increasingly interested in their conservation and in particular to the arguments underlining their importance: for instance, the role of non-human primates in maintenance and regeneration of forest habitat.  A second theme of importance focuses on the ecological dynamics characterizing non-human primate populations in anthropized habitats.

The PRG researches concentrated until now numerous species, from « great apes » (apes et « lesser-apes ») : gorillas, chimpanzees, gibbons, to « monkeys » (baboons, macaques, colobes, mangabeys, howlers, capuchins, tamarins,….).  The interest for species in natural environment can also imply moments of research in captivity , which we are carrying on in collaboration with partner zoos (notably Köln,  Mulhouse, Paris…).

The research group gathers, in permanent or temporary manner, the members of the primate team of the ULG, working within the Behavioral biology unit, as well as external collaborators, members of the ULG or coming from other Belgian or international institutions institutions.  The projects are using methods specific to the various problems under study and are also turning when necessary to other disciplines methodology, in complement to the strictly ethological methods (for instance in botanny, veterinarian sciences, bacteriology, parasitology, genetics,…)

Team

Brotcorne Fany

Email: eb.eg1566732623eilu@1566732623enroc1566732623torbf1566732623

Huynen, Marie-Claude

ECO-ETHOLOGY OF PRIMATES IN NATURAL HABITAT

ROLE OF PRIMATES IN MAINTENANCE AND REGENERATION OF FOREST ENVIRONMENTS

BEHAVIOURAL ECOLOGY AND MANAGEMENT OF PRIMATE POPULATIONS IN ANTHROPOGENIC ENVIRONMENTS

STRESS-RELATED BEHAVIOUR AND BIO-INDICATORS IN PRIMATES

  • Kaisin, Olivier (PhD student)
  • LETOT, Sylvie (master student)

ALUMNI

  • Devos, Céline
  • Albert, Aurélie
  • Serckx, Adeline
  • Granier, Nicolas
  • Hakizimana, Dismas
  • Martin-Solano, Sarah
  • Delooz, Sophie
  • Broens, Damien

Voir : http://labos.ulg.ac.be/etho/primatologie-ecologie-tropicale/

Le Groupe de Recherche en Primatologie (Primate Research Group, PRG) s’intéresse principalement à des questions d’éco-éthologie et de socio-écologie des primates en milieu naturel. Tout d’abord principalement concentrées sur les mécanismes d’exploitation des habitats (écologie alimentaire, prédation des nids d’oiseaux, dispersion des graines, évolution des domaines vitaux), les recherches du PRG consacrent maintenant une importance croissante à l’étude du comportement des populations de primates au sein d’environnements perturbés, voire totalement anthropisés.

Les modifications des environnements, souvent liées plus ou moins directement à une pression anthropique, menacent dans bien des cas la survie des espèces végétales et animales et notamment celle des primates non-humains.  Si certaines espèces font montre d’une certaine flexibilité, d’autres sont moins adaptables et donc plus fragiles. L’évaluation systématique de l’adaptabilité ou de la fragilité des espèces face aux modifications de leur environnement est indispensable à la mise en place de mesures de protection et de conservation adaptées.

Historiquement, les recherches du PRG ont porté sur de nombreuses espèces, aussi bien de « grands singes » (apes and lesser-apes): gorilles, chimpanzés, bonobos, gibbons, que de « singes » (monkeys) : babouins, macaques, colobes, mangabeys, hurleurs, capucins, tamarins,… L’intérêt pour les espèces en milieu naturel peut également impliquer des moments de recherche en captivité, ce que nous entreprenons via des collaborations avec des zoos partenaires (notamment Cologne, Strasbourg, Nantes, Rennes…).

Aujourd’hui, les activités de recherche du Primatology Research Group se déclinent en quatre axes principaux sur le thème des « Primates à l’ère de l’Anthropocène » : 1) Ecologie comportementale des primates en milieu naturel ; 2) Impact des pressions anthropiques, fragmentation de l’habitat et réponses physiologiques ; 3) Gestion du conflit homme-primate et surveillance sanitaire ; 4) Conservation et rôle écologique des communautés de primates dans les écosystèmes forestiers.

Le groupe rassemble, de façon permanente ou temporaire, les membres de l’équipe de primatologie de l’ULiège, unité de Biologie du Comportement, et les collaborateurs extérieurs, membres de l’ULiège (ex : Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire, Gembloux Agro-Bio Tech) ou d’autres institutions (ULB, UCL, IRScNB, UAntwerp, …). Nous développons nos projets grâce à des collaborations établies de longue date avec des institutions internationales telles qu’en Thaïlande (KMUTT), en Indonésie (UNUD), au Brésil (UNESP), au Cameroun (ERAIFT) et en Algérie (Université de Bejaïa). Les différents projets utilisent des méthodologies spécifiques aux problématiques envisagées et font appel aux compétences d’autres disciplines complémentaires aux méthodes strictement éco-éthologiques (notamment botanique, sciences vétérinaires, parasitologie, ….).

RESPONSABLES DU PRIMATOLOGY RESEARCH GROUP, PRG

Brotcorne, Fany

Email: eb.eg1638091965eilu@1638091965enroc1638091965torbf1638091965

ECO-ETHOLOGIE EN MILIEU NATUREL

 

IMPACTS DES PRESSIONS ANTHROPIQUES & FRAGMENTATION DE L’HABITAT

 

CONFLIT HOMME-PRIMATE, GESTION DES POPULATIONS ET SURVEILLANCE SANITAIRE EN MILIEUX ANTHROPISES

 

CONSERVATION, ECOLOGIE ET ROLE DES COMMUNAUTES DE PRIMATES DANS LES ECOSYSTEMES FORESTIERS

 

ALUMNI

  • Savini, Tommaso, PhD
  • Devos, Céline, PhD
  • Culot, Laurence, PhD
  • Albert, Aurélie, PhD
  • Serckx, Adeline, PhD
  • Granier, Nicolas, PhD
  • Hakizimana, Dismas, PhD
  • Sarah Martin, PhD
  • Trollet, Franck, PhD
  • Delooz, Sophie
  • Broens, Damien
  • Cloutier, Fanny
  • Petronio, Marie