Benjamin Lejeune

PhD Student (FRIA grant holder)

Laboratory of Fish and Amphibian Ethology
Freshwater and OCeanic science Unit of reSearch (U.R. FOCUS)
University of Liege, Quai van Beneden 22, 4020 Liege, Belgium

Description of the doctoral research

I am interested in the study of facultative paedomorphosis in European newts’ populations of the species Ichthyosaura alpestris and Lissotriton helveticus and invasive species currently threatening these populations. Facultative paedomorphosis is a case of extreme phenotypic plasticity allowing for the retention of larval traits at the adult stage in some individuals of a population. In these rare populations, fully metamorphosed individuals (metamorphs) and individuals that retained larval gills (paedomorphs) share a common aquatic habitat during the reproductive period.

The aim of my PhD project is to understand the long-term maintenance of facultative paedomorphosis in two contrasting habitats (alpine lakes and ponds) by studying the trophic ecology of paedomorphic and metamorphic newts during their shared aquatic phase. Because facultative paedomorphosis is currently threatened by fish introductions in Europe, we are also studying the impact of introduced species of fish on these particular populations and their native trophic web.

Main study species: Ichthyosaura alpestris and Lissotriton helveticus.

Specific methodologies: In situ sampling (phytoplankton, zooplankton, macrophytes, aquatic macroinvertebrates, fish and amphibian tissues), stable isotope and stomach content analysis, niche modelling and analysis of ecological communities.

Promotor: Mathieu DenoëlCo-promotor: Gilles Lepoint

Publications and communications

Benjamin Lejeune

Doctorant FRIA

Laboratoire d’Ethologie des Poissons et Amphibiens
Freshwater and OCeanic Science Unit of reSearch (U.R. FOCUS)
Université de Liège, Quai van Beneden 22, 4020 Liège, Belgique

Email: eb.ca1573776491.glu.1573776491tcod@1573776491enuej1573776491el.ni1573776491majne1573776491b1573776491

Description des recherches doctorales

Je m’intéresse au phénomène de pédomorphose facultative existant dans certaines populations de tritons du Sud de l’Europe, populations aujourd’hui menacées par des introductions de poissons. La pédomorphose est une forme de plasticité phénotypique extrême permettant la rétention de caractères juvéniles lors de l’acquisition de la maturité sexuelle chez certains individus d’une population. Celle-ci abouti dans les populations d’intérêt à la formation de deux morphotypes : des individus « métamorphes » complètement métamorphosés et des individus « pédomorphes » conservant leurs branchies à l’âge adulte.

Ma thèse vise à comprendre les aspects trophiques liés aux différences intraspécifiques que génère la pédomorphose facultative dans deux habitats contrastés (les lacs alpins et les mares permanentes) et de mettre en évidence l’influence des introductions de poissons sur ces interactions trophiques. En outre, nous souhaitons comprendre l’impact de la pédomorphose facultative sur la niche trophique des tritons et les effets de compétition/prédation liés aux introductions de poissons menant à la disparition de ce trait. Plus largement, nous nous intéressons également aux différences structurelles entre réseaux trophiques dominés par des tritons ou des poissons.

Principales espèces d’amphibiens étudiées : Triton alpestre (Ichthyosaura alpestris) et Triton palmé (Lissotriton helveticus).

Méthodologies spécifiques : Prélèvements in situ (phytoplancton, zooplancton, macrophytes, macroinvertébrés aquatiques, tissus de vertébrés), analyses isotopes stables et de contenus stomacaux, modélisation de niche et analyse des communautés écologiques.

Promoteur: Mathieu Denoël – Co-promoteur: Gilles Lepoint

Publications et communications