News

Monitoring the evolution of Ozone-Depleting Substances

The Montreal Protocol has recently turned 30. This was the opportunity to look back and to identify the contributions in the field and the laboratory which led to the success of this international treaty. In a [...]

22 November 2018|

The heavy price of shale gas

Since 2009, the quantity of ethane in the atmosphere has been increasing by 5% per year. Prior to this, concentrations of the gas had actually been decreasing over a twenty-year period thanks to successful political [...]

18 May 2016|

The butterfly effect of shale gas

From an observation station located in Switzerland, researchers from the InfraRed Group of Atmospheric and Solar Physics of the University of Liege have identified a potentially worrying phenomenon that could lead to air quality degradation: since [...]

29 June 2015|

Is there a new threat to the ozone layer?

After the alarm was raised in the 1980s, the ozone layer, which up to then had been destroyed by industrial activity, began to improve slightly. However, on the initiative of Emmanuel Mahieu, a researcher at [...]

5 November 2014|

Actualités

Une note salée pour le gaz de schiste

Depuis 2009, la quantité d’éthane dans l’atmosphère augmente à raison de 5% par an. Sa concentration diminuait pourtant progressivement depuis plus de vingt ans au moins, notamment suite à d’heureuses mesures politiques. Ce gaz a [...]

18 mai 2016|

L’effet papillon du gaz de schiste

Au départ d’une station d’observation située en Suisse, des chercheurs  du groupe infrarouge de physique atmosphérique et solaire de l’Université de Liège ont constaté un phénomène potentiellement inquiétant pouvant mener à la dégradation de la [...]

29 juin 2015|

Nouvelle menace pour la couche d’ozone ?

Depuis que la sonnette d’alarme a été tirée durant les années 1980, la couche d’ozone, jusqu’alors abondement détruite par l’activité industrielle, a entamé une timide régénération. Cependant, à l’initiative d’Emmanuel Mahieu, un chercheur de l’Université [...]

5 novembre 2014|