Jean-Michel D

About Jean-Michel D

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Jean-Michel D has created 6 blog entries.

The heavy price of shale gas

Since 2009, the quantity of ethane in the atmosphere has been increasing by 5% per year. Prior to this, concentrations of the gas had actually been decreasing over a twenty-year period thanks to successful political initiatives. This gas tends to lead to peak ozone levels in the air we breathe and increase the atmospheric lifetime [...]

18 May 2016|

The butterfly effect of shale gas

From an observation station located in Switzerland, researchers from the InfraRed Group of Atmospheric and Solar Physics of the University of Liege have identified a potentially worrying phenomenon that could lead to air quality degradation: since 2009, the level of ethane in the atmosphere has increased by 5% per year while previously, it was decreasing by [...]

29 June 2015|

Is there a new threat to the ozone layer?

After the alarm was raised in the 1980s, the ozone layer, which up to then had been destroyed by industrial activity, began to improve slightly. However, on the initiative of Emmanuel Mahieu, a researcher at the University of Liege, an international team observed that between 2007 and 2011, the trend of chlorine – the main [...]

5 November 2014|

Jean-Michel D

About Jean-Michel D

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Jean-Michel D has created 6 blog entries.

Une note salée pour le gaz de schiste

Depuis 2009, la quantité d’éthane dans l’atmosphère augmente à raison de 5% par an. Sa concentration diminuait pourtant progressivement depuis plus de vingt ans au moins, notamment suite à d’heureuses mesures politiques. Ce gaz a tendance à favoriser les pics d’ozone dans l’air que nous respirons et à augmenter la durée de vie des gaz [...]

18 mai 2016|

L’effet papillon du gaz de schiste

Au départ d’une station d’observation située en Suisse, des chercheurs  du groupe infrarouge de physique atmosphérique et solaire de l’Université de Liège ont constaté un phénomène potentiellement inquiétant pouvant mener à la dégradation de la qualité de l’air : depuis 2009, le taux d’éthane dans l’atmosphère augmente de 5% par an, alors qu’auparavant il diminuait annuellement [...]

29 juin 2015|

Nouvelle menace pour la couche d’ozone ?

Depuis que la sonnette d’alarme a été tirée durant les années 1980, la couche d’ozone, jusqu’alors abondement détruite par l’activité industrielle, a entamé une timide régénération. Cependant, à l’initiative d’Emmanuel Mahieu, un chercheur de l’Université de Liège, une équipe internationale a observé qu’entre 2007 et 2011, la tendance caractérisant son principal destructeur –le chlore– s’était [...]

5 novembre 2014|